Good news, gluten free folks: I’d posted about Krish Classic Khakra back in January of 2013. The product featured the words “gluten free” despite clearly being “wheat” based. Recently someone from the company followed up to say that they’ve removed the words “gluten free” so there is no confusion. It’s a tasty product and I’m glad they’ve finally made the change.
Khakhra are a paper thin cracker/bread native to Gujarat, India. Typically they’re made from wheat flour only and/or one other flour such as lentil. A pappadam (papor) is a close relative, but tend to be gluten free (made of lentil, rice and other flours).
The Krish Classic come 12 to a pack. They’re about 7 inches in diameter and super thin. The ingredients are whole wheat flour, ghee, salt and cumin. These khakhras are crisp with a nice roasted flavor from the cumin and a faint sweetness. The crisps are enjoyable plain or with chutney and onions on top.
<strong>Wheat = Not Gluten Free</strong>
It’s a tasty product with one big problem. For some strange reason, the back of the label says “gluten free.” Most people who are GF check packages anyway, but it’s rare to see such a clear error. I’ve written to the makers, <a href=”http://krushnafood.com/”>Krushna Foods</a> and will post any follow ups about removal of the gluten free language.